What Certifications Should A Safety Professional In Construction Industry Have?

What Certifications Should A Safety Professional In Construction Industry Have
Top Priority Construction Certifications: Which Should I Obtain First? – Start with the basics and keep it simple. All construction professionals should acquire some level of basic safety training, not only to protect themselves and others on-site but to build their resume with relevant educational experience. The must have safety courses for ALL construction professionals are:

OSHA 10 OSHA 30 First Aid/CPR training Other regulatory mandated certifications

Depending on the state/region you live, there might be additional certifications that would be attractive on a resume or even mandated by regulatory bodies in the region. For example, workers in new York have to acquire an SST Card (Site Safety Training Card) in order to legally perform work on some jobs.

The SST Card consists of OSHA 30, 8-Hour Fall Arrest Training, and 2-Hour Drug and Alcohol Awareness training. If you’re dead set on a career in a specific trade, then research which trade-specific certifications will get you ahead. Or, if you’re interested in project management or safety-related roles, look at some of the construction certifications that we have listed above.

Always start with the entry-level prerequisite certifications and be sure to have a plan around which certifications are important to contractors in your region. If you live and work in New York City, fall arrest training is a must because almost every job incorporates scaffolding and working at some heights.

What is the best certificate in safety?

CSP – Certified Safety Professional – The Certified Safety Professional (CSP) Certification is the “Gold Standard” for the Safety Professional. Covering a broad range of EHS concepts, this certification carries some prestige within the world of occupational safety.

Having the “CSP” credential behind your name shows competency and credibility as a safety professional. No matter what industry the safety professional is in (construction, general industry, etc.), this certification should be one that a safety professional strives to attain over the course of their career.

Most Important and Valuable Certifications in HSE around the world – HSE Career Guidance Part 4

It is the premier certification in the safety profession. The Certified Safety Professional Exam is for safety professionals who perform safety tasks for at least 50% of their duties, including performing risk assessments, conducting audits and inspections to assess potential hazards, identifying and evaluating hazard control measures, preparing emergency response plans, and investigating incidents.

Bachelor’s degree Having four years of work experience where safety is at least 50% of the duties Having a prerequisite qualification credential of BCSP, including the Associate Safety Professional (ASP), Graduate Safety Practitioner (GSP), Certified Industrial Hygienist (CIH), and more.

The exam covers nine main domains, including:

Advanced Science and Math Management Systems, Risk Management Advanced Application of Safety Concepts Emergency Preparedness/Fire Prevention/Security Occupational Health and Ergonomics Environmental Management Systems Training and Education Law and Ethics.

The application fee is $160, and the exam fee is $350. Individuals are provided 5.5 hours to complete 200 multiple choice questions on the CSP Exam. Find everything you need to prep for the CSP Exam: CSP Prep

You might be interested:  What Is A Raker In Construction?

What are the three types of certification?

Categorization – There are three general types of certification. Listed in order of development level and portability, they are: corporate (internal), product-specific, and profession-wide. Corporate, or “internal” certifications, are made by a corporation or low-stakes organization for internal purposes.

For example, a corporation might require a one-day training course for all sales personnel, after which they receive a certificate. While this certificate has limited portability – to other corporations, for example – it is the most simple to develop. Product-specific certifications are more involved, and are intended to be referenced to a product across all applications.

This approach is very prevalent in the information technology (IT) industry, where personnel are certified on a version of software or hardware. This type of certification is portable across locations (for example, different corporations that use that software), but not across other products.

Another example could be the certifications issued for shipping personnel, which are under international standards even for the recognition of the certification body, under the International Maritime Organization (IMO). The most general type of certification is profession-wide. Certification in the medical profession is often offered by particular specialties.

In order to apply professional standards, increase the level of practice, and protect the public, a professional organization might establish a certification. This is intended to be portable to all places a certified professional might work. Of course, this generalization increases the cost of such a program; the process to establish a legally defensible assessment of an entire profession is very extensive.

What is the best license for construction?

Construction Management Association of America—Certified Construction Manager (CCM) – Price : $385 (application and exam only) Duration : 6+ years A certified construction manager (CCM) is committed to the excellence of construction management. The CCM showcases an individual’s dedication to construction planning, designing, project management, and safety.

  • Those who earn this construction certification are recognized for their leadership, guaranteeing project, and program success.
  • The CCM, issued by the Construction Management Association of America (CMAA), is the gold standard of construction management credentials and proves that you are up to date with industry best practices.
You might be interested:  How To Calculate Productivity In Construction?

The certification requires a 4-year bachelor’s degree and 4+ years of construction management experience, or eight years of construction experience with four years in management if you don’t have a bachelor’s degree.